Congressman Bennie Thompson and Legislative Black Caucus Supporting David Baria in #MSSen Runoff

Mississippi’s lone black Democratic Congressman and several members of the Mississippi Legislative Black Caucus have thrown their support behind fellow legislator David Baria in the Democratic U.S Senate runoff taking place this Tuesday, June 26th. Congressman Bennie Thompson of Bolton endorsed Baria on Friday.

This came after Baria thanked Representative Sonya Williams Barnes of Gulfport, leader of the Legislative Black Caucus, and the several members who attended a meeting recently in Jackson to throw their support behind him. Baria has been endorsed by 34 members of the 48 member Legislative Black Caucus and they’re listed below.

Baria finished second during the June 5th Democratic Primary to Meridian businessman Howard Sherman. Caucus member Omeria Scott of Laurel, who finished third in the race, threw her support to Sherman ahead of the runoff. Sherman currently enjoys the public support of Rep. Omeria Scott of Laurel, Rep. Charles Young of Meridian and Senator Willie Simmons of Bolivar County.

Legislative Black Caucus Members who PUBLICLY Support David Baria Include:

Senator John Horhn- Jackson

Senator Sollie Norwood- Jackson

Senator Tammy Witherspoon- Magnolia

Senator Robert Jackson- Marks

Senator Albert Butler- Port Gibson

Senator Derrick Simmons- Greenville

Senator Juan Barnett- Heidelburg

Senator David Jordan- Greenwood

Rep. John Faulkner- Holly Springs

Rep. Jarvis Dortch- Jackson

Rep. Abe Hudson- Shelby

Rep. Kathy Sykes- Jackson

Rep. Debra Gibbs- Jackson

Rep. Chris Bell- Jackson

Rep. Alyce Clarke- Jackson

Rep. Greg Holloway- Hazelhurst

Rep. Oscar Denton- Vicksburg

Rep. Rufus “Pete” Straughter- Belzoni

Rep. Earle Banks- Jackson

Rep. Willie Bailey- Greenville

Rep. Cedric Burnett- Tunica

Rep. Credell Calhoun- Jackson

Rep. Bryant Clark- Pickens

Rep. John Hines- Greenville

Rep. Karl Gibbs- West Point

Rep. Lataisha Jackson- Como

Rep. Robert Johnson- Natchez

Rep. Cheikh Taylor- Starkville

Rep. David Myers- McComb

Rep. Kabir Karriem- Columbus

Rep. Sonya Williams Barnes- Gulfport

Rep. Percy Watson- Hattiesbug

Rep. Orlando Paden- Clarksdale

Rep. Carl Mickens- Brooksville

Legislative Black Caucus Members who haven’t PUBLICLY endorsed either candidate Include:

Rep. Jeramey Anderson- Moss Point

Rep. Ed Blackmon- Canton

Rep. Angela Cockerham- Magnolia

Rep. Chuck Middleton- Port Gibson

Rep. Willie Perkins- Greenwood

Rep. Adrienne Wooten- Jackson

Rep. Kenneth Walker- Kosciusko

Rep. Sara Thomas- Indianola

Rep. Tracey Rosebud- Mound Bayou

Rep. Deborah Dixon- Bolton

Senator Barbara Blackmon- Canton

Senator Sampson Jackson- Kemper County

Senator Hillman Frazier- Jackson

Senator Angela Turner Ford- West Point